Flash fiction success

Here’s my response to the challenge thrown down by Chuck Wendig over on the Terrible Minds blog. My short story is Ne me quitte pas it means don’t leave me. 

Ne me quitte pas

Once upon a time.

Yes, you read it right. I’m starting this story with once upon a time. I have to. I have no choice. If I wrote this as it happened, if I remember it happening, make it real again, I’ll stop breathing. I imagine I’ll fold up like when you make one of those paper crane things, random folds, the paper disappearing, waiting to see what shape will emerge, only I’ll keep on folding and folding until I’ve disappeared completely.

So.

Once upon a time there was a flying chariot. The standard kind of thing, seats too close together, not enough space for your luggage, people that recline their seats while you have your tray table down, attendants with the thickest reddest lips you’ve ever seen. You’re basic fairytale nightmare.

But there was one person on that chariot that was fit to burst with excitement.

The faded, stained chairs, the frayed seatbelts, the magazines that had been thumbed by a thousand other fingers, they were magical.

Cocooned in her seat the diminutive Rebecca. No, something more fairytale, Gretel, no Rapunzel, no. What is it with fairytale names for crying out loud, none of these are going to work. Heidi! Yes.

The full story can be found on the page in the menu at the top of the page or click the link. Hope you enjoy, would love to hear what you think..

One response to “Flash fiction success

  1. Pingback: Flash Fiction Friday – Taxi to all time… | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

Love to hear from you

