If David Mitchell can do it…

So my wonderful husband, BMan, suggested that he loved my flash fiction pieces so much I should write a short story compilation. Bless his cotton socks, I had to explain how that the ridiculously difficult to crack publishing industry becomes nigh on impossible when presenting short story collections.

We have many books in our home, many books. We also have many ebooks and now that BMan is an audio book convert, we have many of those as well. I then asked him how many short story compilations he had bought in his life – nada. Hmm.

However, I have a cunning plan. My wonderful host, WadeΒ <I will link to their site as often as I can to encourage visitors, go there, now, no after you finish reading this post, then go there straight away!>Β related a brilliant family anecdote at my recent Cimarron Session that sparked the germ of an idea.

Essentially it’s a novel in stories. Sneaky sure, but hey if David Mitchell can do it in Cloud Atlas then why can’t I? Don’t mistake that I’m actually comparing myself to David Mitchell, good lord no. But it shows that novels in stories can be done, mine will not be anywhere near as literary and clever as David Mitchell can write, the narrative thread will be much more obvious, but I’m sure it will have its own beauty.

I’m chuffed with the concept anyway and really would like to start it. Finish your current damn manuscript Bel!

Ok, then self, good advice, I’m off to up my word count πŸ™‚

8 responses to “If David Mitchell can do it…

  1. It’s great you have such a supportive husband. You’ve got a creative mind too. I’d say go for it. πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. That sounds like an amazing plan! I haven’t read the Cloud Atlas (it’s on my wishlist) but I **have** read Ghostwritten, which is a similar concept. There’s nine stories which seem disconnected but actually tell one overall story if you can be bothered to trace the imagery and the signature phrases, and link it all together. That is one of my all time favourite books, much loved, much thumbed and thoroughly annotated. So–go with it, good luck with it, and keep us posted! If DM can do it, so can you!!

    Like

  3. It’s always good to have a cunning plan. πŸ™‚

    Seriously, I think stories should work as stories, but it can be great when they link up to form a larger whole, too. That happened to me with my collection of mystery stories. I call it a stealth novel. πŸ™‚

    Like

Love to hear from you

