Reading by example

The changing face of technology means that our kids don’t necessarily ‘see’ us read any more.

It’s National Literacy and Numeracy Week down here DownUnder, and in my real life incarnation I’ve been doing some Facebook prompting to encourage people to get involved, that literacy and numeracy exercises are not just for kids or students.

libraryAs we all well know children learn best and insidiously from example, our example. I’ve been reading quotes and studies about how fantastic it is for our kids to see us read, to realise that reading is done for enjoyment, not just news and education. And this goes for kids of any age. In particular it is great for boys to see their male role models reading for pleasure.

We read a lot in our house, however, Little Man actually probably doesn’t ‘see’ us read all that often. I mostly use my Kobo ereader, particularly as I’m into book 4 of Game of Thrones – and they are some heavy books! And BMan reads loads but has fallen in love with audio books. So it is not very often that the Little Man gets to see us with a book in hand.

So how does that go for influencing the future generations? I have no answer to be honest.

I’m not concerned for Little Man – he’s 5 so we read stories to him nightly and we have literally hundreds of books in the home and regularly visit the local library. We make it pretty clear that reading and story telling is a great past time.

However it’s something that may be telling as this techno generation get older.

Interesting.

WIP update – I’ve got my manuscript entered into Scrivener now, have categorised large slabs of it as Purgatory – in need of work prior to being released back into the manuscript proper. Now I’m embarking on reading the current manuscript, to refresh my memory, be proud of what I’ve done to date and to cringe and hide my head in shame at other points.

6 responses to “Reading by example

  1. There are some great stats out there on children that grow up in reading households. Don’t know where any of them are, but remember reading them when I was homeschooling my daughter. She’s in community college now and found out she excelled in her college English courses. The biggest thing I attribute it to is reading. As you do, I used to read to her nightly as well as we used to pick a book we’d take turns reading aloud from everyday. She’s always seen my husband and I with a book in hand. The library and used bookstores were our favorite places to visit. I think no parent can ever go wrong encouraging a love of reading and hopefully technology just increases the accessibility of reading material. The down side I see is I think it provides too many distractions from reading.

    Like

  2. Some of my earliest memories are going to the library with my father (the stacks were open to the public — I only appreciated later how rare that is), and I had a library card when I was three (my parents had both been librarians when young – -that’s where they met, in fact). It had a lot to do with how I ended up, that’s for sure. πŸ™‚

    By the way, do you have RSS feeds activated for the blog? My reader program can’t find the feed, and that’s very unusual with a blog on wordpress.com. If it’s off, I recommend turning it on. That’s a way a lot of people follow blogs (obviously including me).

    Like

  3. There is a public community for people who use Scrivener on Google Plus. We have over 900 members. Because this is a public community, you can read the posts and comments even if you do not choose to join us.

    https://plus.google.com/u/0/communities/109597039874015233580

    Like

Love to hear from you

